The Truth About the Lordship of Christ

The Truth About the Lordship of Christ

By John MacArthur

“Becoming a Christian means being sick of your sin, longing for forgiveness and rescue from present evil and future hell, and affirming your commitment to the Lordship of Christ to the point where you are willing to forsake everything. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: it isn’t just holding up your hand or walking down an aisle and saying, ‘I love Jesus.'” ―John MacArthur

I have read other books by MacArthur and although this book did have the expected teaching on Christ, salvation and living a holy life, it did not have the ability to hold my interest for very long periods of time.

It seemed to be more elementary than some of the more in depth books I am more familiar with that come from John MacArthur.  That does not discount the fact that it is full of helpful scriptural references and an almost step by step method in coming to terms with what the lordship of Christ is all about.

Perhaps this was intended for a new Christian or as a reminder for those who have walked with the Lord for some time. Either way, it is a knowledgeable example of the work that MacArthur puts into research for his books.

I fully appreciated the focus on recognizing truth in this world we live in that seems to have lost all sight of truth. It was very strong in its Calvinistic view, so if you are not a Calvinist and/or are not comfortable reading from such a strong viewpoint, then perhaps this book is not for you.

Even though there were some points I am not in total agreement with, I do not deny that MacArthur is an excellent Biblical teacher and I have always come away enriched with new insight from each of his books.

Based on that, I would recommend this book.

**Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

